Criminal Penalties For an Georgia DUI
If you are convicted of driving under the influence, you can expect to lose your license for 30 days or more, and pay anywhere from $300 to $1,000 in fines. In addition, your sentence may include community service, probation, alcohol counseling, and even jail time. Indeed, under state law, the minimum punishment for a first-time drunk driving offense includes a 24-hour jail sentence and 12 months of probation—and those penalties can always increase!
Long-Term Consequences Of an Atlanta DUI Conviction
Think having a DUI conviction on your record won’t affect your personal life? Think again. Once you are found guilty of driving under the influence, your crime will be permanently reflected on your criminal record. Unfortunately, that means anyone who checks your background will see your conviction—a fact that can be a real deterrent for employers and housing providers, as well as colleges and universities.
Along with limiting future opportunities, a DUI conviction may also have a negative impact on your budget. For example, once your insurance provider learns you were found guilty of drunk driving, your insurance rates are sure to rise. In fact, many drivers who have a DUI conviction on their record pay up to three times more for coverage than other motorists—and most insurance companies won’t even consider reducing your rates for the next several years.
Of course, the good news is that being arrested for DUI does not mean you will be convicted of the charges in criminal court. As a first-time offender, you may be able to get your DUI reduced to a lesser offense and avoid the life-altering consequences of a drunk driving conviction—and in some cases, you may even be able to get your charges dismissed entirely.
As a former prosecutor, Bryan Howard knows the ins and outs of Georgia’s DUI code. From challenging the officer’s testimony to questioning the accuracy of your chemical test results, count on the Howard Law Group Attorneys are aggressive litigators in the state’s case against you.
If you were recently arrested for DUI in Georgia, you may be tempted to just plead guilty and accept whatever consequences the court doles out. However, in light of the consequences you will face for doing so, it is best to obtain legal representation immediately after your arrest.
To put one of Georgia high rated DUI defense attorneys to work on your case, submit your information online today for a free consultation with Bryan Howard or Christina Champagne.